Concerto for Electro-Acoustic Wind Symphony

Electro-Acoustic Wind SymphonyWritten for the Duquesne University Wind Symphony under the direction of Robert Cameron, “Concerto for Electro-Acoustic Wind Symphony” (Lynn Emberg Purse©1989, 2002) features a wind synthesizer and keyboard in addition to the standard wind symphony orchestration. However, it is designed to be a concerto for ensemble, showcasing the wind symphony in all its parts.

The first movement is a tribute to the superb television composers of the late 1950’s who wrote for crime/detective shows. The Adagio features only the wind and brass, while the Rondo features only the synthesizers and percussion. The Rondo was re-written in 2002 to include a keyboard part that changes the harmonic language each time the wind controller returns to the theme. The Finale draws together the entire ensemble and celebrates the color, textures, and power of the wind symphony ensemble.

I. Toccata 

II. Adagio 

III. Rondo 

IV. Finale 

Recent Posts